Beyond Therapy

Christopher Durang
Aug 21, 2014 to Sep 28, 2014

The witty and wickedly wild date comedy. Prudence and Bruce have each posted a singles ad in the paper at the suggestion of their respective therapists. When they meet, their blind date wavers somewhere near total fiasco. While the therapists themselves border on psychotic, and both ex- and current lovers force their way into the picture, Prudence and Bruce try to navigate the treacherous waters of maintaining sanity.
NOTE:  contains strong language and gunshots.

Performance Schedule: 

Beyond Therapy runs
August 21 through September 28
Thursdays 7:30
Fridays & Saturdays 8:00
Sundays 3:00


Bruce - Mark Shum*
Prudence - Dana Schultes*
Dr. Stuart Framingham - Jakie Cabe*
Mrs. Charlotte Wallace - Amber Devlin**
Bob - Tyler  Martin**
Andrew - Mitchell Stephens**

*  Member, Actors Equity Association    **  Equity Membership Candidate 

Production Staff: 

Director - Jim Covault
Production Stage Manager - Peggy Kruger-O'Brien
Technical Director - Jason Domm
Set Design - Jim Covault
Costume Design - Michael Robinson/Dallas Costume Shoppe
Lighting Design - Michael O’Brien
Props and Set Décor - Lynn Lovett

About the Author: 

Christopher Durang was born in Montclair, N.J., and received a BA in English from Harvard and an MFA in Playwriting from Yale School of Drama. His plays include The Idiots Karamazov (coauthored with Albert Innaurato), A History of the American Film (Tony nominee),Sister Mary Ignatius Explains It All for You (Obie Award), Beyond Therapy (off and on Broadway), Baby with the Bathwater, The Marriage of Bette and Boo (Obie for playwriting; Dramatists Guild Hull Warriner Award), Laughing Wild, For Whom the Southern Belle Tolls, Betty's Summer Vacation (Obie for playwriting), Miss Witherspoon (2005 Pulitzer finalist), Why Torture is Wrong and the People Who Love Them and Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike (2013 Tony Award for Best Play). Cabaret: Das Lusitania Songspiel, coauthored and performed by Sigourney Weaver and Durang (Drama Desk nominations for both performers); Chris Durang and Dawne (Bistro Award for Durang and cohorts John Augustine and Sherry Anderson). He won the Harvard Arts Medal, the PEN/Laura Pels Award for a Master American Dramatist; recently inducted in the Theatre Hall of Fame. For 18 years he and Marsha Norman have been co-chairs of the Juilliard Playwriting Program. He is a member of the Dramatists Guild Council.