Neighborhood Play Contest

The Neighborhood Play Contest (NPC) is for North Texas K-12 students: write a short play, scene, poem, monologue, or prose and submit it into the contest for the chance to be produced onstage during Festival of the Kid.

The deadline for the 2022 Neighborhood Play Contest will be December 21st. 

Download the pdf poster here (387k pdf)

To get involved and receive valuable resources:

Email our Education Director: Aaron Dias at education [at] 

Materials such as lesson plans (for Middle School and High School) and a 4-part video workshop series (for all ages) are available.

Video workshop topics: 

Part 1: Ideas and Where to Find Them

Part 2: Structure 

Part 3: The Play's the Thing: Writing Your Draft 

Part 4: Everything After 

This year's program is sponsored by The Holloway Family Foundation

Here are our 2021 Neighborhood Play Contest Winners We received 576 submissions from 23 schools in December of 2021! Congratulations to all who submitted. In our hearts, every participant is a winner. Your stories matter!